My Newest Life

I’m excited really, I just hide it well. The whole hospital is clamoring about the miracle that I preformed. Latisha Watkins has woken after three years coma. I don’t have the heart to disagree with them. I guess I got to get use to that name, it’s mine now.

I’m Tisha and I have no diabetes, no sickle cell and no asthma. I’ve got all my appendages too, although I’m not that good at using them. That’s to be expected; it’s my first day and they haven’t been used in a while. I’ll learn to walk on these feet and eat with these hands soon enough. It never takes me long, I’m more experienced than most at this.

My mother loves me very much, she tells me just that. She’s crying and so am  I. I always end up swept up in this kind of thing. When others are happy it just infects me so quickly, I guess I have no immunity to such things. My brother and two sisters are standing around me, we’re all so messy with our emotions. The tears, the laughter, the undefined sounds in between, we’re all mixed up.

As the days go by I learn about the new me. I love fried chicken, love catfish too and most anything else you can fry. I hate collard greens and only eat any kind of green raw. I know a little Spanish, I’m told I use to be fluent but my family all seem to have rose tinted memories of me. I use to be a social worker.

Of all the people I’ve been, this is one of the better ones. If they were to comprehend what exactly I am, my new family might just call me a monster. Which is unfair, I only take up residence in vacant buildings. If Latisha was here, I wouldn’t be. Anyways, I can do good for them, I can help.

I don’t know where you are Latisha Watkins, but I want you to know everyone is doing alright.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlkabik
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:16:02

    This is very interesting to me.

    I appreciate that you don’t try to spell out your aims for the reader. It is both rude and frustrating when a writer doesn’t trust their readers to figure out the story (or, in this case, be happy with what is provided).

    I like the conversational tone, the almost glibness of something that could be horrifying and mysterious. The pacing is well thought out and the elements used within acute.

    Well done, all and all. I’m very happy to have come across your work.

    Reply

    • Carson Margedant
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:39:33

      This is a daily thing for me and I won’t always be trying high artful like this, but I do try to keep quality at a standard. That standard may allow for fart jokes be warned. Thanks for the kind words.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

