My Cold And Shrinking Proposal

She’s walking away now. Her name might as well be Aphrodite, but it’s Lisa. Her waist length hair flows outwards caught in the dawn sun, she is autumn and the departure of color. She’s scrunches inwards, keeping warm in the face of fall’s bitter last days. We’re both a little cold but I don’t think I’ll ever be quite so warm again. Among trees and hilly sidewalks, she disappears. I’m not quite so lucky as to never see her again; she reappears at some distance and slowly fades into the horizon. There’s a part of me that can still see her, but that’s just my imagination.

Finally, I relax and the pear shaped diamond with my grandmother’s gold band falls to the sidewalk. I tie my belt, close my trench coat and slowly pick up two months salary off the ground.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carson Margedant
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 10:18:38

    Yep, dick joke. Pencil dick joke

    Reply

Leave a Reply

