After Goat.se

“Why?”

“I don’t know, I saw it and I thought maybe if I made someone else see it, I’d feel better.”

The dagger went right through the drywall. Lucy was luck enough to hit that exact sweet spot between circuits and beams. She slammed her body through as if some inhuman sloshing impossible pitcher shaped beast.

“Do you feel better Sarah?”

“No.”

“Did the sting leave you?”

“No.”

“Will it ever leave?”

“I don’t know.”

The two friends collapsed into each other and cried. Later, they would agree that it was just something pink. They got on with their lives but sometimes, they’d be brought back to zero hour. In front of the browser, the old CRT long since dead, it’s just there. After you see, after you realize what it is, you’re just curled up and crying. You never really leave goat.se, even after it 404s.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gil
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 10:17:25

    Some things are just better left unseen. Years later I still wish someone could invert brain bleach, like in that Jim Carey movie Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. Well, at least I know I am not alone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

